Student Honors & Awards 2017

By Erin Kelly, Director of Communications

Student Recognition Day, June 1, and Class Day, June 13, SEM students were recognized for their exemplary leadership, scholarship, creativity, community service, and athletics.

On Student Recognition Day, math faculty Andrea Mastracci and seniors Iliana Lukasik (above left) and Rebecca Thomas (above right) presided as the National Honor Society inducted 20 juniors: Chelsea Anderson, Anna Ange, Casey Ball, Priya Bommaraju, Madeleine Cherr, Zhiting "Elf" Dong, Bridget Ewing, Zoe Galarneau, Katie Gibbons, Sarah Hamdan, Grace Heidinger, Shelby Kmidowski, Yixuan "Rebecca" Li, Shangqi "Sarry" Lyu, Margaret McHale, Brooke Pohlman, Tess Rine, Clare Sharkey, Talia Stoffman, and Elisa Yi.

A number of other awards were also given including those for writing, STEAM, athletics, art, and leadership both in school and in the greater community. Senior Lauren Pollina, president of the Donate Life club was given the Buffalo Business First "Community All-Star Award" for her dedication to raising awareness about organ, tissue, and eye donation in Western New York and for organizing blood drives at SEM for Unyts.

On Class Day, Dean of Students Dr. Sara Sieczkarski and humanities faculty Carey Miller presided over the Cum Laude Society induction. Emma Brentjens, Madison Broadwater, Dabin Han, Isabelle Schlehr, Mariam Sha k, Yao "Lisa" Xiao, and Miao Yu joined fall inductees Morgan Baker, Madelynn Leary, Catherine McClenahan, Tara Porter, Jesse Sloier, and Xinyang "Amber" Ye in the Bu alo Seminary chapter of the national organization. Cum Laude membership is based solely on academic achievement and schools are only permitted to induct up to 20% of the senior class.

Class Day also marks the transfer of leadership in the School Government Association (SGA), including its clubs, from outgoing seniors to rising seniors with the traditional Rose Ceremony (right); National Honor Society service pins were awarded to the seniors who completed their year of peer tutoring duties; leadership and character was recognized; and achievement in writing, STEAM, visual art, theatre, music, and sports was awarded.

Class Day is the last time the girls in the senior class attend SEM. Emily Broxup addressed the school for the last time as SGA president and the ceremony ended with the traditional senior slide show, this year created by Jesse Sloier.

A full list of all awardees from both Student Recognition Day and Class Day can be found here.